3000万美元的联邦资金用于推动佛蒙特州GlobalFoundries工厂的下一代氮化镓芯片的创新和生产

作为射频半导体制造领域的全球领导者,GF的佛蒙特工厂离大规模生产下一代氮化镓芯片的目标越来越近。 

佛蒙特州Essex Junction,2022年10月17 -美国参议员Patrick Leahy和功能丰富的半导体制造领域的全球领导者GlobalFoundries(纳斯达克:GFS)(GF)今天宣布获得3000万美元的联邦资金,用于推动GF在佛蒙特州Essex Junction的工厂开发和生产下一代硅基氮化镓(GaN)。氮化镓半导体具有处理大量热量和功率水平的独特能力,其定位是在包括5G和6G智能手机、射频无线基础设施、电动汽车、电网、太阳能和其他技术等应用中实现改变游戏规则的性能和效率。 

这一消息是在今天GF工厂举行的活动上宣布的,参议员Leahy、GF总裁兼首席执行官Thomas Caulfield博士、GF佛蒙特工厂副总裁兼总经理Ken McAvey、大伯灵顿工业公司总裁Frank Cioffi、GF工厂团队成员以及其他嘉宾出席了活动。莱希参议员在《2022财政年度综合拨款法》中获得了3000万美元的联邦资金,这将使GF能够购买工具并扩大200毫米氮化镓晶圆制造的开发和实施。将按比例制造氮化镓纳入工厂的能力,进一步加强了工厂在射频半导体技术方面的长期全球领先地位,并使GF在制造大功率应用的芯片方面处于领先地位,包括电动汽车、工业电机和能源应用。 

"Caulfield博士说:"Leahy参议员的领导和奉献精神对佛蒙特州半导体制造业的发展和成功起到了重要作用。"我代表整个GF团队,感谢Leahy参议员在他多年的任期内对GF的坚定支持。从今天的公告中可以看出,他一直在倡导将该设施置于全球半导体制造的最前沿。 有了这笔新的联邦资金,以及在2023年联邦预算中可能获得的进一步支持,GF完全有能力在佛蒙特州成为全球氮化镓芯片制造业的领导者。" 

"莱希参议员说:"世界各地使用的芯片就在埃塞克斯容克市由这支敬业的工人队伍制造。"我对此感到非常自豪,这也是所有佛蒙特人和美国人可以引以为豪的事情。这笔资金是对美国在改进芯片技术方面的领导地位的投资,这些芯片连接着我们周围的一切,并为我们的手持设备提供动力--GlobalFoundries和佛蒙特人在这方面处于领先地位。" 

本其他交易协议(OTA)是由国防微电子活动通过美国国防部的可信访问计划办公室(TAPO)签订的。TAPO的主要任务是为国防部最关键和敏感的武器系统平台采购先进的半导体。自2019年以来,TAPO一直支持两用(民用和军用)硅基氮化镓的开发工作,因为氮化镓提供了一种稳定的半导体,适用于国防部需要的高功率、高频率设备,以保持美国的技术优势。目前的开发阶段计划利用TAPO以前的成功经验,继续使这种两用技术成熟。    

"GlobalFoundries一直是可信访问项目办公室的重要合作伙伴,为国防部最先进的武器系统平台提供先进半导体技术的半导体保证(信任)。DMEA主任Nicholas Martin博士说:"这次合作只是国防部为确保美国继续获得氮化镓等先进微电子技术而采取的一个步骤。 

这项3000万美元的协议是支持GF佛蒙特工厂的GaN的最新联邦投资。在2020和2021财政年度,莱希参议员为该工厂推进氮化镓技术的相关研究和开发共争取到1000万美元的资金,为这次新的奖励铺平了道路。 

GF位于佛蒙特州Essex Junction的工厂,靠近伯灵顿,是美国第一批主要的半导体生产基地之一。今天,有近2000名GF员工在这里工作,每年的制造能力超过600,000块晶圆。基于GF的差异化技术,这些GF制造的芯片被用于世界各地的智能手机、汽车和通信基础设施应用。该工厂是一家可信的代工厂,与美国国防部合作生产安全芯片,用于美国一些最敏感的航空航天和国防系统。 

关于GF 

GlobalFoundries(GF)是世界领先的半导体制造商之一。通过开发和提供功能丰富的工艺技术解决方案,GF正在重新定义创新和半导体制造,在普遍的高增长市场中提供领先的性能。GF提供独特的设计、开发和制造服务组合。GF拥有一支才华横溢的多元化员工队伍,其规模化的生产基地遍布美国、欧洲和亚洲,是全球客户信赖的技术来源。欲了解更多信息,请访问www.gf.com。 

©GlobalFoundries Inc.GF、GlobalFoundries、GF标识和其他GF标志是GlobalFoundries公司或其子公司的商标。所有其他商标是其各自所有者的财产。 

前瞻性信息 

本新闻稿可能包含前瞻性声明,这些声明涉及风险和不确定性。请读者注意不要过分依赖任何这些前瞻性声明。这些前瞻性声明仅在本新闻稿发表之日有效。除非法律要求,否则GF没有义务更新这些前瞻性声明以反映本新闻稿发布日期之后的事件或情况,或反映实际结果。 

媒体联系方式。 

Michael Mullaney
[email protected] 

Gina DeRossi
[email protected]

$30 Million in Federal Funding to Advance Innovation and Production of Next-Generation GaN Chips at GlobalFoundries Fab in Vermont

A world leader in RF semiconductor manufacturing, GF’s Vermont Fab moves closer to large-scale production of next-generation gallium nitride chips 

Essex Junction, Vermont, October 17, 2022 U.S. Senator Patrick Leahy and GlobalFoundries (Nasdaq: GFS) (GF), a global leader in feature-rich semiconductor manufacturing, today announced the award of $30 million in federal funding to advance the development and production of next-generation gallium nitride (GaN) on silicon semiconductors at GF’s facility in Essex Junction, Vermont. With their unique ability to handle significant heat and power levels, GaN semiconductors are positioned to enable game-changing performance and efficiency in applications including 5G and 6G smartphones, RF wireless infrastructure, electric vehicles, power grids, solar energy, and other technologies. 

The announcement was made at an event today at GF’s Fab attended by Sen. Leahy, GF President and CEO Dr. Thomas Caulfield, GF Vermont Fab Vice President and General Manager Ken McAvey, Greater Burlington Industrial Corporation President Frank Cioffi, GF Fab team members, and other guests. The $30 million federal funding, secured by Sen. Leahy as an appropriation in the Consolidated Appropriations Act for Fiscal Year 2022, will enable GF to purchase tools and extend development and implementation of 200mm GaN wafer manufacturing. The incorporation of scaled GaN manufacturing into the Fab’s capabilities furthers the facility’s longstanding global leadership in RF semiconductor technology, and positions GF for leadership in making chips for high-power applications including electric vehicles, industrial motors, and energy applications. 

“Senator Leahy’s leadership and dedication have been instrumental to the growth and success of semiconductor manufacturing in Vermont,” said Dr. Caulfield. “On behalf of the entire GF team, I thank Senator Leahy for his steadfast support of GF throughout his many years in office. As seen with today’s announcement, he has been a champion of putting this facility on the global forefront of semiconductor manufacturing.  With this new federal funding, and the potential for further support in the 2023 federal budget, GF is well-positioned to become a global leader in GaN chip manufacturing—right here in Vermont.” 

“Chips used all around the world are made right here in Essex Junction by this dedicated workforce,” said Senator Leahy. “I am extremely proud of that, and it’s something all Vermonters and Americans can take pride in. This funding is an investment in U.S. leadership in improved technology for chips that connect everything around us and power our handheld devices—with GlobalFoundries and Vermonters leading the way.” 

This Other Transaction Agreement (OTA) was entered into by the Defense Microelectronics Activity via the Trusted Access Program Office (TAPO) of the U.S. Department of Defense. TAPO’s primary mission is to procure advanced semiconductors for the Departments most critical and sensitive weapons systems platforms. TAPO has been supporting dual use (both civilian and military applications) GaN on silicon development efforts since 2019 as GaN provides a stable semiconductor suitable in high power, high frequency devices the DoD needs to maintain technology advantage for the United States. This current development phase plans to leverage previous TAPO successes and continue maturing this dual use technology.    

“GlobalFoundries has been a critical partner to the Trusted Access Program Office, enabling semiconductor assurance (Trust) to advanced semiconductor technologies for the Department’s most advanced weapon systems platforms. This engagement is just one step the DoD is taking to ensure the U.S. has continued access to advanced microelectronics technologies such as gallium nitride,” said DMEA Director Dr. Nicholas Martin. 

This $30 million agreement is the latest federal investment to support GaN at GF’s Vermont Fab. In fiscal years 2020 and 2021, Sen. Leahy secured a total of $10 million for research and development related to advancing GaN technology at the facility, paving the way for this new award. 

GF’s facility in Essex Junction, Vermont, near Burlington, was among the first major semiconductor manufacturing sites in the United States. Today nearly 2,000 GF employees work at the site, with a manufacturing capacity of more than 600,000 wafers per year. Built on GF’s differentiated technologies, these GF-made chips are used in smartphones, automobiles, and communications infrastructure applications around the world. The Fab is a Trusted Foundry and manufactures secure chips in partnership with the U.S. Department of Defense, for use in some of the nation’s most sensitive aerospace and defense systems. 

About GF 

GlobalFoundries (GF) is one of the world’s leading semiconductor manufacturers. GF is redefining innovation and semiconductor manufacturing by developing and delivering feature-rich process technology solutions that provide leadership performance in pervasive high growth markets. GF offers a unique mix of design, development and fabrication services. With a talented and diverse workforce and an at-scale manufacturing footprint spanning the U.S., Europe and Asia, GF is a trusted technology source to its worldwide customers. For more information, visit www.gf.com

©GlobalFoundries Inc. GF, GlobalFoundries, the GF logos and other GF marks are trademarks of GlobalFoundries Inc. or its subsidiaries. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners. 

Forward-looking Information 

This news release may contain forward-looking statements, which involve risks and uncertainties. Readers are cautioned not to place undue reliance on any of these forward-looking statements. These forward-looking statements speak only as of the date hereof. GF undertakes no obligation to update any of these forward-looking statements to reflect events or circumstances after the date of this news release or to reflect actual outcomes, unless require by law. 

Media Contacts: 

Michael Mullaney 
[email protected] 

Gina DeRossi 
[email protected]